Big Lakes County, formerly the M.D. of Big Lakes, is located in northern Alberta, Canada and neighbours the Town of High Prairie, the Town of Swan Hills, as well as First Nations and Metis Settlements. Big Lakes is made up of 1,213,056 hectares of land that is divided into 9 wards. During the municipal election (that happens every four years, the last one being in 2021) a councillor is elected in each ward.

Under the Municipal Government Act, Division of municipality into wards: 148(1) Unless otherwise provided for in a bylaw under this section, when a municipality is divided into wards

  1. Only an elector who is resident in the ward may vote for a councillor in that ward and

  2. Councilors are elected for each ward

Once the councilors are elected they appoint a Reeve and Deputy Reeve. During the annual organization meeting in October 2023, administration administered the Oath of Office to Reeve Airth and Deputy Reeve Monteith.

Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month. If you would like to address council during a meeting, you can do so by completing an application to appear as a delegation or by contacting the Big Lakes County Administration Office at 780-523-5955.


Tyler Airth, Reeve

Ward 8: Banana Belt / HP East

Box 1967 High Prairie, AB T0G 1E0

Cell: 780 512 9174
Email: [email protected]


Lane Monteith, Deputy Reeve

Ward 7: Enilda / Big Meadow

Box 244 Enilda, AB T0G 0W0

Phone: 780 523 2836
Cell: 780 523 7681
Email: [email protected]


Garrett Zahacy

Ward 1: Heart River / Salt Prairie

Box 262 High Prairie, AB T0G 1E0

Cell: 780 523 6872
Email: [email protected]


Jeff Chalifoux

Ward 2: Grouard

Box 21 Grouard, AB T0G 1C0

Phone: 780 751 3841
Cell: 780 523 1115
Email: [email protected]


Jim Zabolotniuk

Ward 3: Gilwood North / Triangle

Box 1126 High Prairie, AB T0G 1E0

Phone: 780 523 5157
Cell: 780 523 8656
Email: [email protected]


Roberta Hunt

Ward 4: Kinuso

Box 391 Kinuso, AB T0G 1K0

Cell: 780 805 9076
Email: [email protected]

Robert Nygaard

Ward 5: Faust

Box 128 Faust, AB T0G 0X0

Phone: 780 523 8391
Cell: 780 355 2735
Email: [email protected]


Richard Mifflin

Ward 6: Joussard

Box 254 Joussard, AB T0G 1J0

Cell: 780 916 9290
Email: [email protected]


Ann Stewart

Ward 9: Sunset House / Gilwood South

Box 660 High Prairie, AB T0G 1E0

Phone: 780 523 2590
Cell: 780 523 7282
Email: [email protected]