Beginning in September, all-day school zones in Big Lakes County will be in effect from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. with a maximum speed limit of 30 kilometers per hour on school days. 

On May 13th, Council voted for an amendment to the Speed Limit Bylaw to extend school zone times for all schools within the County boundary, including Joussard School, Kinuso School, and Grouard Northland School.

“The health and safety of our residents is always a top priority,” said Reeve Richard Simard. “Council appreciates the support and recommendation by the High Prairie School Division in implementing these changes.”

Big Lakes County currently follows the provincial standard for school zone times on school days: 8:00 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.; 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.; 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. However, the High Prairie School Division, in conjunction with the High Prairie and Area Traffic Safety Coalition, believe consolidating the school zones into one daylong time increases the safety for children and lessons uncertainty for commuters.

Big Lakes County will be working closely with stakeholders to communicate the school zone time change to local drivers. The County will also be ensuring the new effective times are displayed at every school zone in the County. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Vic Abel, Director of Public Works, at 780-523-5955. 

Victoria Zahacy, Communications Coordinator
[email protected]
(780) 523 5955

Share this post: